Select Page
Natalie Sullivan

Lou Marrocco, CMP

Director of Meetings & Events | Visit Delco, PA Tourism Bureau

Briefly describe your job and responsibilities.

My responsibilities include organizing events to promote tourism in Delaware County, answering requests for sleeping rooms and meeting spaces, coordinating all aspects of the meetings/events, and working with the hospitality organizations.

What does a “typical” day at work look like for you?

There really are no “typical” days, which is another reason why I love what I do. However, the days consist of proposing and organizing the concepts for future events and staying informed on the state of our industry.

What was your first job?

My first job was as a dishwasher/bus boy.

When did you know this industry was right for you?

After returning from my time in the military, and realizing I enjoyed this work.

Briefly describe your career path and how you got to where you are today.

I grew up (12-16 years old) around my father’s restaurant/night club. Made my first steak at 13 years old. Worked while in high school at restaurants. Came back from my USMC time and went into a neighborhood bar/restaurant with my dad. Moved from there to the hotel industry, moved to CA, worked in the night club business, and then worked as an event manager for a private yacht club as well as opening a small catering company with two friends.

What is your favorite part of your job?

All of it! I like being able to help and see the smiles on faces.

What is the most challenging part of your job?

Sometimes remembering to have time for yourself and your family.

What advice would you give to students interested in your profession?

No matter where your interest lies in this industry, make it a point to try and learn as many aspects as possible. This will help you going forward to know what your meeting/event/hospitality partners do and how they do it.

Also, keep in contact with your contacts and expand your network. Remember, your “net worth = your network”.

What achievement are you most proud of?

Helping the newer industry professionals.

What do you like to do outside of work?

Music, gardening, and cooking.

What is your favorite food to make or eat?

Pasta dishes.

What’s at the top of your bucket list?

Get a bigger bucket!