Select Page

Peter Henry

Chef | Café Momentum Pittsburgh

Briefly describe your job and responsibilities.

While maintaining and modeling the Momentum Pledge, direct kitchen staff and handle all food-related concerns with training and overseeing quality and standards toward success of the mission.

What does a “typical” day at work look like for you?

A typical day of work for me includes: checking with case managers and the program to see if our youth need anything; checking with the Front of House management team on daily needs and any updates/ changes we have to reservations; leading and instructing kitchen staff instructors to be at their best and most set both mentally and physically prepping up for service; running a pre-shift meeting to make sure all team is on same page prior to service and everyone knows the gameplan for the night; lead expo orchestrating flow and instruct youth to the best function of kitchen.

What was your first job in the hospitality industry?

Pantry cook and dishwasher.

When did you know this industry was right for you?

During college.

Briefly describe your career path and how you got to where you are today.

During high school I worked as a pantry cook and dishwasher for a family friend. While attending college at UCLA, a chemistry instructor encouraged me to study food chemistry with a production emphasis and attend Le Cordon Bleu California Culinary Academy. Since then, I have worked in production food and restaurant management as a Chef, specializing in procurement lines and high-end catering and parties.

What is your favorite part of your job?

Watching the youth blossom and try new things.

What is the most challenging part of your job?

Keeping everyone focused and motivated while navigating the intricate nature of youth in a hot and dangerous work environment. Everything in a kitchen can burn or cut you at any time.

What advice would you give to students interested in your profession?

The job is hard, the hours are long. Focus on the love for the art and the product being made and the long hard hours will not deflate you.

What achievement are you most proud of?

Recovery from and return to work after a 10-week coma, 2 years of recovery and surgery.

What do you like to do outside of work?

Sports and video games.

What is your favorite food to make or eat?

Hand-made noodles of any type.

What’s at the top of your bucket list?

Travel the culinary world.